Skip to content

iPhone Apps I Love, Part 3: Entertainment

January 7, 2010

These are the apps I use the most. I have 10 pages of apps but some I have looked at only once or twice (including 4 different camera apps), some never at all. I have even more that I downloaded then deleted from my phone. These are my favorites among those that remain (third and final of a series).

Solitaire. Minutes of mindless fun. A classic fall back when you are waiting in the doctor’s office.

Sudoku. Same as above.

Pocket God. I don’t really play this as a game, competition wise, I just find these little guys fun to fling around. The graphics are crisp and colorful and there are always new updates with different ways to torture the pygmies to discover.

Scrabble. I love Scrabble in real life and this is a great adaptation. You can even log-in with Facebook and play a game you have underway there.

Moron Test. I still haven’t gotten very far in this game. You really have to pay attention to the rules. And you totally feel like a moron when you can’t get a seemingly simple instruction correct. I have closed this game off in anger several times (anger at what a moron I apparently am).

Trivial Pursuit. I’ve played this game with a friend on a camping trip as well as by myself. I love trivia and this has a nice mix of fairly easy questions as well as more obscure ones. I do believe this is the most I have ever paid for an app ($4.99) and I consider it money well spent.

Wordsworth. Fun little letter linking game. I’d like to be better at it than I am.

Sally’s Spa. This was my first “rush” game and I played the hell out of it. Seriously, I would come home from work and play it for hours at a time. The graphics are gorgeous but the sound effects are my favorites. I’ve played the full cycle twice now and I wish they’d update with more levels. This is the game that first addicted my good friend when I gave her my old iTouch. I still can’t figure out how she did so well she got an assistant for Sally. At least I still have a goal.

Wedding Dash. Another “rush” game that I would play even more if I had more free memory available. It apparently needs more than I have and the game keeps crashing on me.

Diner Dash. Same as above, but the real reason I don’t play it more is I can’t seem to get past a certain level.

Ranch Rush. I think this my favorite “rush” game because there are so many options in terms of spacing, timing, and purchases. And I actually feel like I am running a ranch! I’ve gone through the levels at least 3 times now and it still doesn’t bore me. A beautiful game visually.

CrackCode. This is a free game and it can be challenging, but in a good way. The goal is to figure out the color code in a certain number of guesses. It is rewarding to figure out the patterns.

CoolFacts. This isn’t a game, just a never-ending collection of random facts about random things. I always learn something interesting. My only caution is that I don’t know if they are all 100% accurate. But, as long as they are interesting, who cares?

What are some of your favorite games or entertainment apps?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. carrieb permalink
    January 7, 2010 1:37 am

    I don’t even have voice mail set up on my phone. Basically I can dial a number.

    • mjjaaska permalink*
      January 7, 2010 4:30 pm

      haha! That was pretty much all my last phone did too.

  2. January 10, 2010 1:20 am

    Sounds like your friend is really good at sallys spa. I’ve heard of people getting an assistant at the very end. It might have something to do with how much product you sell?

    • mjjaaska permalink*
      January 11, 2010 11:09 pm

      Mysterious G, my friend is a Sally’s Spa expert . . .EXPERT, I tell you!

Leave a Reply

