Skip to content

20 + 1 Things My Husband Does That Annoy Me

December 7, 2009

Be advised that I have hubby’s permission to write this post. (Of course, he has not read this.  Yet.)

I adore my wonderful husband. We have so much fun together and he is gorgeous and motivated and energetic and committed to our relationship and he puts up with all my weirdness. But he also bugs the shit out of me at times. So here are but a few (HA!) things he does that get under my skin (and I promise to write a post later about things he does that I love):

  1. He has a curious inability to completely close food packages.
  2. Instead of using one of the bazillion Gladware containers we have to store food, he prefers a bowl or plate with plastic wrap half-assed covering the leftovers.
  3. He has about 7 half empty water bottles strewn about our home and car at any given time.
  4. He is incapable of noticing all the crumbs he leaves behind each time he makes a meal and he never cleans the counter. I point out the mess and he accuses me of having “eagle eyes” like I am some freak of nature.
  5. He never picks up the dog toys and tennis balls strewn all over the house. You’d think we were living with a toddler with all the crap on the floor. A toddler who chews on tennis balls.
  6. He does not know how to wash pots and pans, especially the OUTSIDE of any given pot or pan.
  7. He would never notice if the house was not dusted or vacuumed. Ever.
  8. He doesn’t put away his clothes and leaves them in piles on chairs (although this is arguably my fault because I hog all the closet space).
  9. After 5 years in the same house, he doesn’t know where to put the dishes away or where any given household product is stored.
  10. If he does something I don’t like, such as rubbing his foot on me, and I ask him to stop, he has to do it at least ONE MORE TIME.
  11. He thinks everything can be cured with exercise. Including a freshly broken finger.
  12. He attributes everything about people to their ethnic heritage. He has a gray hair? No, it is a wild Irish “white” hair! So-and-so is a good teacher? It is because she is from Russia!
  13. He always drives in the turn lanes, accelerates, then slams on the brakes.
  14. He leaves old food in the refrigerator forever.  When I ask him to throw it away he says he will but never does.
  15. He leaves empty food containers in the refrigerator (OK, so there might be a tablespoon of milk left in the carton:  what the hell is anyone going to do with that?).
  16. He slurps his soup and when he drinks water from a bottle.
  17. He always has to groan in delight whenever he eats something good. I feel like I am living inside a repeating “bite and smile” commercial for Hamburger Helper.
  18. He would have no idea of what we need from the grocery store or Target unless I gave him a very detailed list. Even then, he would bring home the wrong items.
  19. All he needs to travel is a toothbrush and a bar of soap, while I need 3 suitcases of beauty supplies. (Ok, that is just plain jealousy on my part)
  20. He eats whatever he wants yet never gains an ounce, yet I consume 300 calories a day and somehow gain weight. (There’s my jealousy rearing its ugly head again)

That’s enough for now, right? Love you, Hubby!

P.S.  Good thing hubby doesn’t have his own blog or I might be in trouble.

P.P.S.  I was typing this list last night as hubby sat on the couch next to me.  He started yammering to me and I looked over at him and said, “What?  I didn’t hear you:  I was reading.  Why do you always talk to me when I am reading?”  Hubby grinned and said, “Why don’t you put that on your list too.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. carrieb permalink
    December 7, 2009 6:39 pm

    They are never quite trainable….

    • mjjaaska permalink*
      December 7, 2009 6:50 pm

      So true, Carrie. Then THEY complain about US nagging them: if they would only learn to do things OUR way, we wouldn’t have to nag! ;-)

  2. December 8, 2009 9:47 pm

    I think it’s time for your husband to guest-post.

    • mjjaaska permalink*
      December 9, 2009 2:32 am

      I told him that and he said, “But the only thing about you that annoys me, my beautiful wife, is that you are so perfect and I must struggle to deserve your love every day.” Then I woke up. What he actually said is that his list would have at least 25 items on it.

  3. mel permalink
    August 10, 2012 12:30 pm

    my husband is sooooooo irritating omw!
    i googled and it makes me feel alotbetter knowing im not alone. I probably have to learn to just let go,but wow…can one person irritate you so much.He does alot of good stuff too and i do love him but the irritating things are jst so opverwelming sometimes.
    but thanx forthe blog,feel a little better…

Trackbacks

  1. Things About My Husband That I Adore « Pinch A Pig Toe

Leave a Reply

