Skip to content

Sign FAIL

October 27, 2009

I’m sort of a stickler for proper spelling and grammar.  I can’t help but catch mistakes on public signage when I am out and about.  Don’t people, presumably getting paid to craft some artifact for all the world to see, double and triple check their work?*  Don’t they have a boss or a coworker to say, “Hmm, that looks grand but I think you misspelled that word.”  Apparently not everyone.  Here are a few of my recent favorite examples of sign failures:

37573062

The above  sign was carefully crafted by one of my coworkers at the City of Minneapolis.  Notice any problems?  Give you any cause for concern about the caliber of local government employees?

How about this one:

photo

Each time I see it I want to put an “S” after “MEN,” but two wrongs will never make it right!  Is “WOMENS” supposed to be plural or possessive or both?  Either way, it is all kinds of effed up and also lovingly created by a City employee.

Now this one I have to give a pass to because it is old-timey and quaint.  People didn’t know how to spell so good back in the olden times:

27505091[1]

Lastly we have this Clip-Art masterpiece.  Whoever designed it likely spent several hours searching for the prefect colorful cartoons and photos from the 1990s to illustrate their “tough on crime” (softened by a stab at pop culture irony?  Cheeky monkey!) stance.  Too bad they didn’t spend just a few seconds with Spellcheck:

6909795[2]

Ahh, good times.  If you see any sign failures, please send them my way!

*Yes, I realize that I too make spelling and grammatical errors in this here very blog from time to time but 1) I am not getting paid to write and thus do not have as high a standard with which to conform;  2) I don’t expect anyone to read this blog except perhaps my mother-in-law; and 3) get off my back already.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 12:50 am

    I must admit that I had two reed over those last too looking four the error. When people make these misteaks, it just shows there laziness.

    • mjjaaska permalink*
      October 30, 2009 2:07 am

      O Teddh, eye haf to aggree witch ewe!

Leave a Reply

