Skip to content

Why the Heck Am I Blogging Anyway?

September 17, 2009

Good question.  Someone (@tylerbraun) reminded me on Twitter last night that I said I would never have my own blog.  As I explained in my “6 Stages of Twitter” post, it took a lot of cajoling just to get me into Facebook and Twitter (and you have no idea how long it took my husband to convince me I should get an iPhone and my own laptop).  Blogging seemed like one more nerdy thing I would never get involved in.

The only blogs I read regularly were pop culture and celebrity gossip sites.  I didn’t understand the point of someone like me blogging: what did I have to offer?  I am no expert in any one thing, I am not uniquely funny or clever (just moderately above average in those areas), I don’t have a glamorous job or lifestyle to share:  who the hell would want to read what I have to say and what would I have to say anyway?

Then I started reading some blogs by “real” people:  they were blogging about their daily adventures, their adorable children, their annoying husbands, their beliefs and hobbies.  I saw that a blog didn’t have to be about any one thing and it didn’t have to appeal to everyone on the planet.  These were thoughts and stories that may touch just a handful of people – or perhaps occasionally no one at all.  I honestly didn’t want to jump on the bandwagon just for the sake of it, but I did jump on as I was increasingly encouraged to by those with whom I interacted.  If it wasn’t for the fabulous @babitosdad, this site would not exist.  (You can send your complaints directly to him)

My husband keeps telling me I am going to be the next big thing in blogging. (Um, yeah.  Illusions of grandeur are a theme for him)  I have NO illusions that any single person will read what it is I am typing here, but it feels good to be typing.  It feels good to be stretching that creative part of my brain and sharing my thoughts – just in case one pair of eyes stumbles upon it.  I hope that I keep getting better, that I don’t run out of things worth saying.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 11:40 pm

    wow. My sentiments exactly.
    :)

  2. September 18, 2009 2:07 am

    Keep up with it!!! I “force” myself to write something, anything, every day – a challenge really – because I want to regularly write again – something I haven’t done since college, and it is actually turning out to be kind of fun :) Good luck!!!

    • mjjaaska permalink*
      September 18, 2009 3:59 pm

      Thank you so much Amy! I appreciate your support and inspiration!

  3. September 18, 2009 3:09 am

    Maija,

    Great post! I completely understand where you’re coming from, and I, for one, appreciate your blog. (I think you and I have a lot in common, so I’m really glad to have found your blog.)

    I stumbled upon your blog when searching for the 6 Stages of Twitter (which I had only briefly seen on Twitter & wasn’t sure where to look for it) and found your post on the stages to absolutely mirror my own experience. As I’ve been fine-tuning my own Twitter experience, I was thinking how selective I’ve become in who I follow. You’re definitely a great find in that way as well (just followed you).

    Keep sharing! You resonate with this reader. :) @allisoncds

    • mjjaaska permalink*
      September 18, 2009 4:08 pm

      Allison, thank you so much for your kind words and the Twitter follow! I really appreciate your thoughtfulness. I have checked out your blog and it is lovely. Can’t wait to spend more time with it. I have added you to my blog roll and followed you back on Twitter! Thanks for taking the time to read my words!

  4. September 21, 2009 10:01 pm

    Hopefully you’ll keep up with it better than I can.

    I think I post like once every 3 months or something.

    Just keep at it, I like your style! :)

    • mjjaaska permalink*
      September 21, 2009 11:39 pm

      Thank you, Elliott! I don’t know if I can keep up with this once-a-day business.

Leave a Reply

